Asianista.com

A fun romp through news, celebrity, beauty & fashion with an AsianAmerican eye

Tiger Woods Press Conference – I’m a bad Buddhist and that’s why I had rampant, adulterous sex

with 2 comments

Tiger Woods on February 19, 2010. (AP)

Well, for once it’s refreshing and new to hear a disgraced celebrity cite — not God or Christianity  — as the path to redemption, but Buddhism! That’s what happens when your mother is originally from Thailand and raises you Buddhist.

Tiger Woods, looking bloated, puffy and chipmunk-cheeked, gave a press conference today to address the numerous, scandalous affairs that brought him tumbling down from his pedestal last November and threatened to destroy his career and marriage. Standing before a carefully assembled group of friends, business associates, his mother and hand-picked reporters, Woods admitted, “I was unfaithful. I had affairs. I cheated.”

Why he had affairs with all those women: “I felt that I had worked hard my entire life and deserved to enjoy all the temptations around me. I felt I was entitled.”

He was selfish and thought only of himself, admits Woods. His mother, Kultida Punsawad Woods, who is originally from Thailand, was at the conference and hugged her son afterwards. The person glaringly absent from the press conference was Woods’ wife, Elin Nordegren. (I could have you told you she wasn’t going to be there.)

The press conference was carefully controlled. Woods’ team only invited a hand-picked small group of reporters from the Associated Press, Reuters and Bloomberg News. No questions were allowed. Tiger simply read from a statement that was 14 minutes long. (Watch the video and read his entire statement here.)

Woods said that he has had intense therapy (though he wouldn’t specify whether it was for sexual addiction) and is trying to rebuild his marriage and his career. Will he and his wife stay married? That is between them as husband and wife, Woods said.

I have a lot of work to do, and I intend to dedicate myself to doing it. Part of following this path for me is Buddhism, which my mother taught me at a young age. People probably don’t realize it, but I was raised a Buddhist, and I actively practiced my faith from childhood until I drifted away from it in recent years. Buddhism teaches that a craving for things outside ourselves causes an unhappy and pointless search for security. It teaches me to stop following every impulse and to learn restraint. Obviously, I lost track of what I was taught.

One wonders. Who helped Tiger write that speech?

Written by Asianista

February 19, 2010 at 3:28 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOL & as an Asian, how do you feel about this take on the golfer? Please! Be honest!–If u ask me back, we’re even & that should cover both sides of this Tiger thing:

    http://msofficer.com/2010/02/21/tiger-woods-yall/

    TWITTER.COM/MSOFFICER

    MsOfficer

    February 23, 2010 at 9:17 pm

  2. […] not that one is glad Tiger is losing sponsors, but if Tiger thought his emotionless and defiant apology on February 19 would be sufficient to begin repairing his public image, he needs to have some new […]


Leave a Reply

