Asianista.com

A fun romp through news, celebrity, beauty & fashion with an AsianAmerican eye

Who is Sata Matsuzawa, Sean Penn’s ‘best friend’? (UPDATED)

with one comment

The first person that Sean Penn thanked last night during his acceptance speech for winning the Oscar for Best Actor for “Milk” was not his wife, Robin Wright Penn, but his “best friend, Sata Matsuzawa.”

Now, I ask you. Who is Sata Matsuzawa? I’ve Googled till my fingers bled, but could find no information on this person—presumed to be a man.

If anyone knows, can you please kindly send me a note? 

Below is how Penn’s acceptance began. For the full text, go to the Oscars website.

Thank you. Thank you. You commie, homo-loving sons-of-guns. I did not expect this, but I, and I want it to be very clear, that I do know how hard I make it to appreciate me often. But I am touched by the appreciation and I hoped for it enough that I did want to scribble down, so I had the names in case you were commie, homo-loving sons-of-guns, and so I want to thank my best friend, Sata Matsuzawa. My circle of long-time support, Mara, Brian, Barry and Bob. The great Cleve Jones. Our wonderful writer, Lance Black. Producers Bruce Cohen and Dan Jinks… 

**UPDATE: No wonder I couldn’t find this person. The Oscars website had spelled the name wrong.  (It still hasn’t been corrected.) The correct spelling is Sato Masuzawa. Thanks to Karin from Denmark who sent me a link to IMDb, which reveals that Sato is Sean Penn’s longtime assistant. Thanks to Digrasian for clarifying that Sato Masuzawa is a woman. (See new Asianista post, above.)

Written by Asianista

February 23, 2009 at 6:50 pm

Posted in Celebrity, Gossip

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It appears that you’ve put a great amount of effort into your article and I need to see a lot more of these on the Internet these days. I sincerely got a thrill out of your post. I do not have a bunch to to say in reply, I only wanted to register to say fantastic work.

    Thailand Shopping

    April 10, 2010 at 11:12 pm


Leave a Reply

