Asianista.com

A fun romp through news, celebrity, beauty & fashion with an AsianAmerican eye

Freida Pinto, star of ‘Slumdog Millionaire,’ shares her gorgeous skin secrets

with 6 comments

Freida Pinto closeup

“I haaate wearing makeup,” laments Freida Pinto, the gorgeous breakout star of the hit movie, “Slumdog Millionaire.” “If I had the chance to go without makeup and not get slain for it, I would go without makeup.” 

We’re sitting in the lobby bar of the Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills. It’s December 2008 and she is in Los Angeles to promote “Slumdog Millionaire.” In a couple of hours, she will be sitting opposite Jay Leno on the Tonight Show, charming the host and audience who raptly listen to her explain why Bombay is now called Mumbai. 

Freida is, somehow…incredibly…even more gorgeous in person. Up close, you get a better view of her delicate bone structure and flawless skin. 

Today, she has begged her makeup artist not to use foundation on her face. “I’m just wearing concealer and loose powder,” the 24 year-old starlet says, as I gaze enviously at her glowing complexion.

How do you keep your skin looking so good? What is your skin care regime?

“I usually don’t do anything that is too tedious,” she says. “With the schedule I have, if you put a really tedious regime on, you’re not going to be able to stick to it.”

Freida’s skin care tips are classic and uncomplicated.

Never sleep with makeup on. Take every dot of makeup off your face. Moisturize and sleep well–that’s most important. Drink loads of water. Eat a lot of veggies and fresh fruit. I don’t drink Coke or Pepsi, no soda or coffee. Only green tea, water and fresh fruit juices.

As for skin care products, she keeps it simple and (mostly) over the counter:

  • Her makeup remover is anything mild, such as Vichy–a top brand sold in European drug stores and widely available in India.
  • Cetaphil is Freida’s choice for cleanser. (“It’s very mild and doesn’t have chemicals.”)
  • She uses the “good stuff” to moisturize, such as Chanel Face Moisturizer

“I have to use so much makeup on my face, so I work with a dermatologist so I don’t get breakouts,” Freida explains.  Hollywood’s new “It Girl” doesn’t get facials, but does indulge in once-monthly microdermabrasion to keep her skin glowing.

(Photo courtesy of http://www.freidapinto.com)

*To read more about my interview of Freida Pinto, check out the Feb/March 2009 issue of Audrey Magazine.

Written by Asianista

February 4, 2009 at 3:24 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love that she uses Cetaphil. I swear by it and use it every night to remove my makeup and the grit of everyday life in the city.

    Melissa

    February 4, 2009 at 5:27 pm

  2. She has amazing skin.

    Smoothie

    February 4, 2009 at 6:37 pm

  3. I use Cetaphil too. And don’t wear make-up. Oh, that I had her skin though!

    Rissa

    February 5, 2009 at 1:43 am

  4. The topic is quite hot on the Internet right now. What do you pay attention to while choosing what to write about?

    Heartburn Home Remedy

    April 15, 2009 at 6:55 am

  5. If you ever want to hear a reader’s feedback 🙂 , I rate this post for four from five. Decent info, but I just have to go to that damn msn to find the missed bits. Thanks, anyway!

    Random T.

    April 22, 2009 at 1:59 am

  6. Hi hunnie, great site! I genuinely appreciate this article.. I was curious about this for a while now. This cleared a lot up for me! Do you have a rss feed that I can add?

    DIY Makeup

    February 4, 2010 at 5:35 pm


Leave a Reply

